Photoshoot for musicians in a Japanese rock genre

Recently queer studio “Theme” did a photoshoot of a music band. This musicians are not crossdressers or transvestites, but wearing women’s clothing is integral part of their music’s genre image. So we decided that this photos would fit our site well ;)

Group is called Rotting Project. They play in visual-kei genre, that is close to J-rock (Japanese rock).

At the moment J-rock music is quite popular in the world. Many people don’t understand the essence if J-rockers performances and their peculiar style visual-kei, but J-rockers have a lot of fans and followers, especially among informal youths, that likes to support this original challenge to the society.

Their repertoire includes musical compositions, so called covers – remakes of well-known musics with new arrangement and new style of performance, filled with Japanese colour.
Musicians that play in visual-kei style could be easily confused with transvestites or crossdressers. For them wearing clothes of the opposite gender is not a physical need, but an integral part of their scenic stage image. This is their way of showing their empotions, their picture of the world, and a way to attract attention to their creative work. Uniqueness and originality are peculiarity of their stage costumes .
Makeup was made by Olga Zhgun. Makeup and hair styling took about 4 hours, but it was not hard for musicians, because for them dressing up and hair styling – is a necessary, almost everyday (especially when there are concerts going on) process helping to create an appropriate mood and to play their special music.
Clothes and accessories for the photoshoot were brought by musicians themselves.

    

   

Post Author: Polina

Фотосессия для музыкантов.

На днях квир-студия «Тема» провела фотосъемку для музыкального коллектива. Эти музыканты совсем не относятся к трансвеститам и кроссдрессерам, но переодевание в женскую одежду неотъемлемая часть имиджа того жанра, в котором они исполняют свою музыку. Поэтому мы решили, что на нашем сайте эти работы будут в тему ;)

Группа называется Rotting Project, жанр, в котором они играют называется visual-kei. Этот жанр близок к J-rock (японскому року).

Сегодня в мире довольно популярным стал такой жанр музыки, как J-rock (японский рок). Суть выступлений джей-рокеров, и их особый стиль visual-kei многим непонятны, однако они имеют массу фанатов и поклонников, особенно среди неформальной молодежи, которая поддерживает такой своеобразный вызов обществу.

Их репертуар включает музыкальные композиции, каверы, представляющие ремиксы на известную музыку с новой аранжировкой и с новой манерой исполнения, пропитанные особым японским колоритом.
Музыкантов, которые играют музыку в стиле visual-kei можно принять за трансвеститов. Однако переодевание в одежду противоположного пола – это не природная потребность, а неотъемлемая часть их сценического имиджа. Так они выражают свои эмоции, видение мира, а также привлекают внимание к своему творчеству. Особенность их сценических костюмов в неповторимости и своеобразности.
Макияж выполнила Ольга Жгун, на макияж и прическу ушло примерно 4 часа, но музыкантам было не трудно, поскольку для них переодевание и укладка – это необходимый, практически ежедневный процесс, особенно, когда идут концерты, для создания соответствующего настроя и исполнения особенной музыки.
Одежда и аксессуары были принесены на съемку самими музыкантами.

Волосы и макияж Ольга Жгун

 

    

   


Автор записи: Polina